Judgments             Rules

            Bare Acts


            Related Links


            Contact us

Appellate Tribunal for Electricity
7th Floor, Core 4,
SCOPE Complex, Lodhi Road,
New Delhi-10003



<<< Back

Hon'ble Mr. H.L. Bajaj

Born on 20th May, 1945. Graduated in Electrical Engineering and did his Masters in Power Systems from Punjab Engineering College, Chandigarh.

Mr. Harbans L. Bajaj, a graduate in Electrical Engineering and Masters in Power Systems from PEC, Chandigarh was appointed Technical Member in Appellate Tribunal for Electricity in May, 2005. Tribunal hears appeals against the orders of the Central and State Electricity Regulatory Commission. Mr. Bajaj is a Director on the Board of Nuclear Power Corporation also. He is also a member of Government of India Expert Committee for finalising tariff norms of Atomic Power Stations. He has served as director on the Board of power generating and power trading companies.

In 2002, Mr. Bajaj was appointed Chairman of Central Electricity Authority (CEA), an apex technical organization in the power sector at the national level, Government of India. He was concurrently Chairman of the Central Electricity Board; Chairman of Electro-Technical Division Council, Bureau of Indian Standards; Vice-President of the Governing Councils of Central Power Research Institute, Bangalore and National Power Training Institute and Ex-officio member of the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission and on the Board of Directors of Nuclear Power Corporation. He envisioned and brought about structural changes within CEA for its massive technological and qualitative upgradation and launched 50,000 MW Hydro electric and 100,000 MW environmental friendly thermal capacity initiative to accelerate power development in the country. He evolved nationwide consensus for adoption of 800 1000 MW super critical technology units. Within three years, he took CEA to greater heights which has significantly impacted the Indian Power sector.>

Under his leadership as a member of Board of Directors, National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC) - a leading power utility in India employing more than 5000 engineers and technical professionals became the 6th largest thermal engineering company and the most efficient among the top 10 in capacity utilization in the world. These efficiency improvements resulted in setting new bench marks and increased efficiency levels In recognition of these achievements, the Western Region of NTPC under him was awarded the Prime Minister's highest award of Shram Ratna to an employee for technical excellence. He was instrumental in evolving consensus for undertaking power sector reforms at the national level.

During the stint of 14 years with the then FORTUNE 500 Company, Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd. (BHEL), Mr. Bajaj led engineering teams for power generation, transmission and distribution projects in India and abroad. Mr. Bajaj commenced his career with Haryana State Electricity Board in 1968 and was instrumental in accelerating rural electrification by adopting innovative construction and management techniques which resulted in 100% Rural Electrification of Haryana the first State to achieve such distinction in 1970.

Mr. Bajaj is a Fellow of Institution of Engineers, India; Institution of Electrical Engineers, U.K., the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, USA and All India Management Association. He is recipient of various National and International Awards which include Engineering Manager Award for the year 2005 by Engineering Management Society (EMS), IEEE, USA; Platinum Jubilee Award of Central Board of Irrigation and Power, India in November, 2005 for outstanding contribution in the field of energy; Eminent Engineer Award in 2002 by the Institution of Engineers, India; Outstanding Engineer Award 2001 by the Institution of Electrical Engineers, UK and the 1999 Outstanding Chapter Power Engineer Award by Power Engineering Society of IEEE, USA.

Mr. Bajaj has contributed/presented numerous papers on power and allied subjects in various international/national conferences. He is on the Award Board of OPB National Awards Committee, Vasvik Award Board and has been a Member of Governing Council of Netaji Subhash Institute of Technology, Delhi.

Appellate Tribunal For Electricity, 7th Floor, Core 4, SCOPE Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi-110003