COURT - I

Before the Appellate Tribunal for Electricity

(Appellate Jurisdiction)

<u>I A- No. 244 of 2011</u> in D.F.R. No. 1139 of 2011

Dated: 16th December, 2011

Present: Hon'ble Mr. Justice M. Karpaga Vinayagam, Chairperson

Hon'ble Mr. V.J. Talwar, Technical Member

Orissa Power Transmission Corporation Limited

... Appellant(s)

Versus

Orissa Electricity Regulatory Commission & Ors.

....Respondent(s)

Counsel for the Appellant(s): Mr. R.K. Mehta with

Mr. Antaryami Upadhyay &

Mr. A. David

Counsel for the Respondent(s): Mr. Ashok K. Parija, Sr. Adv. with

Mr. M.G. Ramachandran, Mr. R.M. Patnaik

Mr. P.P. Mohanty for R.9 & 10

Mr. Suresh Tripathy & Mr. Mohit Kumar Gupta for R. 4, 6 & 7

ORDER

I A- No. 244 of 2011

(Condone delay Application)

By Order dated 03.11.2011, we have directed the Orissa State Commission to give an explanation as to why the enormous delay was caused for disposal of review petition through Order dated 26.04.2011, even though the review petition had been filed as early as on 17.10.2006 as against the Order dated 22.07.2006.

2

In pursuance of the said notice, the Orissa State Commission

has filed an affidavit sworn to by the Secretary of the Commission

giving explanation.

The agonizing feature is even though the affidavit has been

filed, when the matter was taken up, nobody appeared on behalf of

the Commission to make submissions with reference to the said

explanation. We directed the Registry to give a copy of the report to

the other counsel appearing in the matter. Accordingly, copies

have been given.

Even today, the Commission has not chosen to appear before

this Tribunal. Since we are not satisfied with the explanation given

by the Orissa State Commission in the affidavit filed by the

Secretary, we deem it appropriate to direct the Commission to

appear before this Tribunal through the counsel on the next date of

hearing.

Post the matter on **19.01.2011**. The Registry is directed to

send a copy of this Order to the Commission.

(V.J. Talwar)

Technical Member

(Justice M. KarpagaVinayagam) Chairperson

TS/MK