## The Organization

The Appellate Tribunal for Electricity (APTEL) has been set up under the Electricity Act 2003 by Government of India (Ministry of Power) w.e.f. 7<sup>th</sup> April, 2004, to hear appeals against the orders of the Adjudicating Officer or the appropriate Commission under the Act. The Tribunal also has Original Jurisdiction to hear petitions under Section 121 of the Act. APTEL is headed by the Chairperson, who has been given the terms of a sitting judge of the Supreme Court. There are three other Members of the Tribunal, one Judicial and two Technical Members, who have been given terms of a sitting judge of the Delhi High Court. Every Bench constituted by the Chairperson shall include at least one Judicial Member and one Technical Member. The Headquarters of APTEL is New Delhi.

The first Chairperson of the Tribunal, Hon'ble Justice Shri Anil Dev Singh assumed office on 13<sup>th</sup> May, 2005 alongwith Hon'ble Mr. Justice E. Padmanabhan as Judicial Member and Hon'ble Sh. A.A.Khan and Hon'ble Sh. H.L. Bajaj as Technical Members of the Tribunal.

The Tribunal started hearing matters from 21<sup>st</sup> July, 2005. As on 30.06.2021, a total of 17952 Appeals/Petitions/IA's have been registered. Of which, 13392 Appeals/Petitions/IA's have been disposed of.